Home > Previous FIFA World Cup > Mexico 1986

Previous FIFA World Cups

Check our World Cup 2014 Match Schedule for all the match days and city and stadium venues.

1986 FIFA World CupMexico 1986

The 13th FIFA World Cup™ was awarded to Mexico, who thus became the first country to host the competition on two occasions. However, the Mexicans were selected only as replacement hosts after the original choice, Colombia, announced in 1983 that it could no longer afford to stage football's greatest tournament. Terrible earthquakes were the prelude to the tournament, but the stadiums were not affected and it was decided to go ahead with the preparations.

Brazil fell in the quarter-finals on penalties to France, who were in turn muscled out by the West Germans in the semi-finals.

Maradona, with two goals against both England -- one a handball he proudly dubbed scored by "the hand of God", the other one of the greatest goals ever scored -- and Belgium, led Argentina through and in the final they overcame West Germany 3-2 in front of 115,000 at the Aztec Stadium.

Official FIFA World Cup™ Awards

Winner Argentina
Second Germany FR
Third France
Fourth Belgium
adidas Golden Shoe winner Gary LINEKER (ENG) 6
adidas Golden Ball winner Diego MARADONA (ARG)
FIFA Fair play award Brazil