Home > Previous FIFA World Cup > Sweden 1958

Previous FIFA World Cups

Check our World Cup 2014 Match Schedule for all the match days and city and stadium venues.

1958 FIFA World CupSweden 1958

After Switzerland, Sweden was named host country for the 1958 FIFA World Cup™ - a Cup which, on 16 October 1956, lost its founding father, when Jules Rimet died in Paris at the age of 83.

Brazil, inspired by a 17-year-old youngster called Pelé, won the trophy for the first time. Pelé scored against Wales, hit a hat-trick in a 5-2 win over France in the semi-finals and struck two more in the final, a 5-2 triumph over the hosts.

Frenchman Just Fontaine scored 13 goals in the tournament, a record which still stands. It was also the first FIFA World Cup™ in which a match ended in a 0-0 draw: the first round game between England and Brazil.

Official FIFA World Cup™ Awards

Winner Brazil
Second Sweden
Third France
Fourth Germany FR
adidas Golden Shoe winner Just FONTAINE (FRA) 13