Home > Previous FIFA World Cup > Italy 1990

Previous FIFA World Cups

1990 FIFA World CupItaly 1990

A disappointing FIFA World Cup™ with too much dull defensive football and matches won on penalty kicks. The final itself between West Germany and Argentina was the least inspiring in the history of the competition and ironically decided by a late penalty converted by West Germany's Andreas Brehme. Argentina became the first team not to score in the final -- and also the first team to have not one, but two players sent off in the final.

Hosts Italy flattered to deceive before losing on penalties in the semi-finals to Argentina. West Germany won the other semi on penalties against England.

The 1990 FIFA World Cup was the pinnacle of Roger Milla's career. At 38, he had taken his leave of the big time to play for JS Saint-Pierroise, a team of modest abilities on Reunion Island. But he came out of retirement to leave a memorable mark on the Italian FIFA World Cup propelling Cameroon into the quarter-finals.

Official FIFA World Cup™ Awards

Winner Germany
Second Argentina
Third Italy
Fourth England
adidas Golden Shoe winner Salvatore SCHILLACI (ITA) 6
adidas Golden Ball winner Salvatore SCHILLACI (ITA)
FIFA Fair play award England

Check our World Cup 2014 Match Schedule for all the match days and city and stadium venues.