Home > Previous FIFA World Cup > GERMANY 1974

Previous FIFA World Cups

Check our World Cup 2014 Match Schedule for all the match days and city and stadium venues.

1974 FIFA World Cup

Germany 1974

Another host triumph as the West Germans took the new FIFA World Cup™ for the first time with a quite exceptional display of the hard-running, interchanging style in a tournament remembered for the arrival of "total football".

The Netherlands, with Johan Cruyff outstanding, beat Argentina 4-0 and Brazil 2-0 to announce their arrival, but could not overcome West Germany in the final and went down 2-1, Gerd Müller, "Der Bomber', typically scoring the winner.

Official FIFA World Cup™ Awards

Winner Germany FR
Second Netherlands
Third Poland
Fourth Brazil
adidas Golden Shoe winner Gregorz LATO (POL) 7