Home > Previous FIFA World Cup > England 1966

Previous FIFA World Cups

Check our World Cup 2014 Match Schedule for all the match days and city and stadium venues.

1966 FIFA World CupEngland 1966

Since its launch in 1930, the FIFA World Cup™ had grown in stature to become clearly the world's senior international football tournament.

After the Jules Rimet Trophy was stolen while on display in London, the hosts triumphed again when it was recovered by a dog called Pickles under a bush in a suburban front garden in south London a few days later.

Pelé was again battered, this time by Bulgaria and Portugal as Brazil's bid for a third consecutive title faltered. England, shrewdly managed by Alf (later Sir Alf) Ramsey, beat West Germany 4-2 after extra time in a thrilling final at Wembley, when Geoff Hurst made history with a hat-trick, including the most controversial goal ever scored. Did the ball really cross the line after bouncing down from the crossbar? The debate still rages.

Official FIFA World Cup™ Awards

Winner England
Second Germany FR
Third Portugal
Fourth Soviet Union
adidas Golden Shoe winner EUSEBIO (POR) 9