Home > Previous FIFA World Cup > SPAIN 1982

Previous FIFA World Cups

Check our World Cup 2014 Match Schedule for all the match days and city and stadium venues.

1982 FIFA World CupSpain 1982

Italy survived the opening round on goal difference and then went on to win the trophy for a third time after a creative Brazilian team had bowed out to them in an astonishing match in the second phase.

Zico, Socrates, Falcao and Eder could not stop attacking and Brazil paid for it when they lost 3-2 to a Paolo Rossi hat-trick. Italy went on to the final and beat West Germany 3-1. Rossi finished top scorer with six goals.

Official FIFA World Cup™ Awards

Winner Italy
Second Germany FR
Third Poland
Fourth France
adidas Golden Shoe winner Paolo ROSSI (ITA) 6
adidas Golden Ball winner Paolo ROSSI (ITA)
FIFA Fair play award Brazil