Home > Previous FIFA World Cup > ARGENTINA 1978

Previous FIFA World Cups

Check our World Cup 2014 Match Schedule for all the match days and city and stadium venues.

1978 FIFA World CupArgentina 1978

Having reached the final in 1930, Argentina had to wait a while before winning the FIFA World Cup™, which they eventually did on own soil in 1978. The great support for the home team helped carry them to victory over the Netherlands in the final, Cruyff having turned his back as he refused to travel to Argentina because of the political situation.

Argentina were outplayed by Italy in the opening round group games, but charged back to reach the final with a 6-0 win over Peru.

In Daniel Passarella, Osvaldo Ardiles and Mario Kempes, top scorer with six goals, they had outstanding players. They beat the Dutch 3-1 after extra time in the final.

Official FIFA World Cup™ Awards

Winner Argentina
Second Netherlands
Third Brazil
Fourth Italy
adidas Golden Shoe winner Mario KEMPES (ARG) 6
FIFA Fair play award Argentina