Home > Previous FIFA World Cup > South Africa 2010

Previous FIFA World Cups

South Africa 2010

The 11th of July 2011 marks exactly one year since the end of the first Fifa World Cup on African soil. It was on that day that Spain rewrote the history books when they lifted the trophy for the first time after defeating The Netherlands 1-0 at a packed Soccer City in Johannesburg.

In the final, Spain, the European champions, defeated third-time finalists the Netherlands 1–0 after extra time, with Andrés Iniesta's goal in the 116th minute giving Spain their first world title.

Official FIFA World Cup™ Awards

Winner Spain
Second France
Third Germany
Fourth Portugal
adidas Golden Shoe winner Thomas Müller (GER)
adidas Golden Ball winner Diego Forlán (ARG)
FIFA Fair play award Spain
Yashin Award for the Best Goalkeeper Iker Casillas (SP)

Check our World Cup 2014 Match Schedule for all the match days and city and stadium venues.