Home > Previous FIFA World Cup > Germany 2006

Previous FIFA World Cups

Germany 2006

This was the 18th FIFA World Cup, the quadrennial international football world cup. This soccer world party was held from 9 June to 9 July 2006. Italy won this world cup they defeated France by 5 - 3 in a penalty shootout at the final.

Germany and Argentina ended 1–1 after extra time; the hosts edged out the Argentinians 4–2 on penalties to go through to the semifinals. Although Germany failed to win the Cup, the tournament was considered a great success for Germany in general.

Official FIFA World Cup™ Awards

Winner Italy
Second France
Third Germany
Fourth Portugal
adidas Golden Shoe winner Miroslav Klose (GER)
adidas Golden Ball winner Zinedine Zidane (FRAC)
FIFA Fair play award Brazil - Spain
FIFA Award for the Most Entertaining Team Portugal
Yashin Award for the Best Goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon (ITAL)

World cup Germany 2006 Venues

Check our World Cup 2014 Match Schedule for all the match days and city and stadium venues.